Life: Expectations

I'm gonna make the rest of my life the best of my life
I think the general public likes to think of life in metaphors and similes to make it easier to get through the everyday trials and tribulations. I mean…..label it. I think this is bullshit. Man up and face life head on as it is, whatever happens, and however great or shitty it may be. Stop labeling and let’s see more action.

Life is not like a box of chocolates….you know exactly what you are getting in a Whitman’s Sampler. It comes with a guide. And the cheaper boxes with no guide…well, you can bite into those and put them back in the box if you don’t like what you picked. Hell, I can’t tell you how many times I re-gifted a box of damn chocolates just so I didn’t have to deal with the crappy mess of who knows what inside…

You cannot make lemonade out of lemons. Fuck this theory. You need water…and sugar…and preservatives…and CountryTime. Life has handed me lemons, and I even tried to make a martini. It didn’t really work out, thank you very much, James Bond. You can make something from nothing…but you have to be able to obtain that something. If you don’t have the means, or help, or the whatever, you. are. fucked. No lemonade for you.

Life is not like the game we played as a child. The game of Life was so easy. You started with money in the bank, chose an education and occupation…if only it were that easy. A spouse and children were placed in your vehicle/life without dating or marriage trials, labor pains, or any other possible “fuck you” from the universe. Then you retired in a mansion with a shit ton of money in the bank. Sounds like a dream. A dream I never saw come to fruition in real life…

Life in general, as I have experienced, is difficult, if not downright fucking challenging. There are no fairy Godmothers with wands, clicks of the heels, or ovens that cook at even temperatures. I think we all have a “washing machine sock eater”, and children with minds of their own (that we will be thankful for later).

Life is a blessing and a curse, but every day it is a journey. The journey is different for each of us, and this is where our joy should lie…in our unique journey.  Because the journey is what is taking each of us to our unique destination. Not chocolate boxes, lemonade, games, fairy tales…though they help. 😉

Live every day with love and joy in your heart and mind, as best you can. We are not perfect, but we can do our best. Life is as real as it gets…but, don’t get caught up in metaphors and similes, etc. Your life happens to be in the now, and it is yours. The label should be reflective and important. as you yourself are. Live life, don’t label it.

Leave a comment